top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Sun-dried Tomato and Garlic Spaghetti Squash

Recipe:

Servings: 2-3 (can make more with bigger squash and more meat crumbles)

Total time: 30-35 minutes

  • 1 small spaghetti squash (can use larger one for more servings)

  • 6 oz veggie meat crumbles (I used 1/2 a 12 oz bag of morning star meat crumbles)

  • 1 tbs oil (can sub water for low fat)

  • 2-4 cloves garlic minced

  • 1/4 tsp red chili flakes (or more)

  • 1 cup vegetable broth

  • 1 cup mushrooms

  • 4 oz jar of sun-dried tomatoes (I used half of an 8.5 oz jar)

  • 2-3 cups spinach

  1. Carefully make slashes around the spaghetti squash with a sharp knife. Put the whole squash in the microwave for 8 minutes. If using a medium or large squash you will need to microwave for 10-12 minutes.

  2. While the squash is microwaving, heat the oil on medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook 1-2 minutes. Add the veggie crumbles and cook for a few minutes, until heated through. Reduce heat to medium-low, add the mushrooms and cook until soft.

  3. Slice the microwaved squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Next scoop out the "spaghetti" or meat of the squash and add it to the veggie crumble mixture.

  4. Add the sun-dried tomatoes and give it a good stir to combine. Finally add the spinach and cook until slightly wilted. Enjoy!

This may not be my prettiest meal but it just might be the tastiest. I'm not gonna lie, I was a little unsure of how flavorful this recipe would turn out but I was not disappointed. It tasted so good I had to get seconds! If you've never cooked spaghetti squash before, I highly recommend following the first step of this recipe and just throwing the whole thing in the microwave. It is such a time saver and gives you the same result as the oven. As for the size of the spaghetti squash, I always look for the smallest one at the grocery store because they contain a lot more "spaghetti" than you'd think. The one that I got contains about 3 servings I would say. I used veggie crumbles as the protein in this because it was the quickest thing I could make and I wanted to use it up. Adding canned beans would be a good protein source in this recipe as well. Obviously you can add whatever protein you prefer it doesn't have to be what I use. I love sun-dried tomatoes but I've never used them in a recipe before and they added so much flavor. I would definitely recommend keeping that in the recipe but remove or replace the other veggies if you'd like. Comment down below if you try this recipe and what you did or would do differently!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page