top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Calabacitas Con Elote - Mexican Zucchini & Corn Dish

Recipe:

Servings: 4-6

Total Time: 30-40 minutes

  • 1-2 tbs oil

  • 3 calabaza squash or zucchini diced

  • 1 medium onion diced

  • 2-3 cloves garlic minced

  • 1-2 jalapeños finely chopped

  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes (fire roasted would be good as well)

  • 1-2 cups corn ( I used frozen)

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened plant milk ( I used soy)

  • 1/2 cup or more plant-based cheese (optional)

  • 1 tsp cumin

  • 1 tsp Mexican oregano ( I used Italian)

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • Cilantro for garnish

  1. Chop all of your veggies.

  2. Heat oil on medium heat in a large skillet. Add the onions and cook until they start to brown slightly. Add the garlic and cook 1 minute. Add the squash, jalapeño and seasonings and cook until soft. Add the corn, tomatoes, and milk and cook until heated throughout.

  3. Sprinkle the cheese on top and allow to melt.

  4. Garnish with cilantro and enjoy!


My boyfriend's mother gave me a bag full of calabaza squash which is what inspired me to make this dish! Calabaza is, from what I can tell, the same thing as zucchini but with a slightly lighter color and are usually a bit smaller. I like this recipe because it's a great way to use up some veggies before they go bad! This recipe turned out really tasty and would make a great side dish. I decided to add black beans to mine and eat it with some fat-free tostadas. It made for a delicious and filling meal that would be easy to meal prep! I tend to make my meals in family-sized portions and then eat them for lunch the following days. Comment down below if you try this recipe and what you did or would do differently!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page