top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Easy Vegan Tofu Scramble

Updated: Jan 9, 2021

Recipe:

Servings: 2-3

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 1 package firm tofu

  • 1 tbs olive oil

  • 2 tbs nutritional yeast

  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

  • 1/4 tsp turmeric

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Heat oil in a medium pan on medium heat.

  2. Crumble tofu into pan or break it up with a spatula.

  3. Add remaining ingredients, stir, and cook until heated through.

  4. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

  5. Top it on toast, put it in tortillas, or enjoy it by itself!


Remember when you were a kid and the first thing you learned to cook was scrambled eggs? Well the same thing happens when you turn vegan! Scrambled tofu used to be the only way I knew how to prepare tofu because when you've never cooked with it before it can be tricky. I'm not gonna lie I wasn't a big fan of scrambled tofu at first because I didn't think it tasted anywhere near eggs. After trial and error with different recipes, I believe I've found the perfect combo of ingredients that create a flavor pretty similar to that of eggs. I used to use kala namak (black salt) in place of table salt because it has a very eggy flavor but honestly you can't put enough of it the mixture to really add flavor because it will be too salty. So I don't think that it is a necessary ingredient. This is a very quick and easy recipe to make in the mornings or to meal prep and heat up in the microwave. I prefer to eat mine either with toast or in tortillas with avocado and salsa. There's something about a warm savory breakfast with sweet creamy coffee that I just can't get enough of lately. Comment down below if you try this recipe!





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page