top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Easy Vegan Mac 'N Cheese

Recipe:

Servings: 2-4

Total time: 30 minutes

  • 1 can full-fat coconut milk

  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/4 tsp onion powder

  • 1 tsp tapioca starch or corn starch

  • 1 package macaroni noodles or shells

Optional parmesan topping:

  • 1/4 cup raw almonds or cashews

  • 1/4 tsp salt

  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

  • 1 tbs nutritional yeast

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F

  2. Cook pasta al dente according to package

  3. In a small sauce pan, heat the coconut milk on medium heat. Once warm, add in the nutritional yeast, seasonings, and starch and whisk until smooth.

  4. To make the parmesan, blend all ingredients in a blender until fine.

  5. Combine the pasta with the sauce and give it a good mix. Pour the mixture in a 8 or 9 inch baking dish and sprinkle 1/4 cup of the parmesan on top.

  6. Bake for 10 minutes and enjoy! I added some sautéed kale to mine for some extra greens!

This recipe turned out better than I expected, I couldn't stop eating it! It's easy, creamy, cheesy comfort food! The coconut milk that I used was from the dollar store and it did not have a strong coconut taste. My non-vegan boyfriend who doesn't like coconut tried it (I didn't tell him there was coconut) and loved it! He is slowly but surely trying more of my food and surprisingly liking it! The baking step in this recipe is totally optional, I just did it to make it look fancier. But it tastes the same either way! I sautéed some kale in water until it was wilted and mixed it in with my bowl to add some greens. I also used the Banza chickpea pasta which packs a good amount of protein. This recipe is decently healthy when you make these changes but still gives you the satisfaction of normal Mac n cheese. Comment down below if you try this recipe and what you did or would do differently!

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Carla Vann Galey
Carla Vann Galey
Dec 07, 2020

Awesome!

Like
bottom of page