top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Easy & Healthy Broccoli and Rice Casserole with Nutrition Facts!

Recipe:

Servings: 6-9

Prep time: 20 min

Cook time: 30 min

Total time: 50 min

  • 1 cup uncooked rice ( I used brown rice)

  • 1 16 oz package frozen broccoli florets or 1 head of fresh broccoli chopped into florets

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds or cashews (I used almonds to save money)

  • 1 cup unsweetened plant milk (I used almond)

  • 2-3 tsp vegetable bouillon (powder or 2-3 cubes)

  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/2 cup vegan cheese (optional)

  1. Cook rice according to package directions

  2. Preheat oven to 350°F

  3. Boil 1-2 cups water and add the almonds or cashews to it. Boil them for 5-10 minutes or until the peels easily come off of the almonds. Remove the peels if using almonds. If using cashews, you can omit this step but they will blend better if you boil them.

  4. Add the almonds or cashews, milk, bouillon, and garlic powder to a blender and blend until smooth.

  5. Cook frozen broccoli in the microwave according to package directions. If using fresh, steam it on the stove top with some water until soft but still firm.

  6. Combine the cooked rice, broccoli, and almond mixture in a large bowl and mix until well combined.

  7. Place the mixture into a greased baking pan or casserole dish. Sprinkle the cheese on top and bake for 30-35 minutes. Serve warm and enjoy!

Notes:

If you want to add some protein, you could add some chickpeas, tempeh, or vegan shredded chicken like I did! I added the Sweet Earth mindful chicken and it was very tasty. I just cooked the chicken shreds on a pan in some oil until it was heated through and then mixed it in with step 6.

Scroll Down for Nutrition Facts!

I don't know if this is a traditional thanksgiving recipe but I feel like any casserole goes great at thanksgiving! I wanted to make an quick and healthy alternative to broccoli and rice casserole and this is what I came up with. It tastes just as good as traditional broccoli and rice casserole but it is so much healthier! My non-vegan boyfriend even ate a plate and liked it which is a big deal considering he's a picky eater and never eats my food! I also added the sweet earth mindful chick'n to mine in order to increase the protein because I wanted to eat this as a meal rather than a side. If you're somebody who doesn't like brown rice, I guarantee you won't be able to tell the difference in this recipe! Brown rice is considered a whole grain while white rice is not so using brown instead of white is going to add some nutrients to the dish. I used almonds in the recipe instead of cashews because they are cheaper than cashews for some reason but they work just as good in my opinion. I only added a half cup of cheese on top in order to minimize the fat content but you could add more for a cheesier casserole. I baked mine for about 40 minutes and it came out more dry than I wanted so I think 30 minutes would have been better. Comment down below if you try this recipe and what you did or would do differently!

Nutrition Facts

The nutrition facts have been calculated using almonds, vegan mozzarella cheese, almond milk, and brown rice. It is also calculated for 6 servings so this is the nutrition facts for 1/6 of the recipe which is about 168 grams.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page