top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Black Bean & Tempeh Tacos

Updated: Oct 15, 2020


Recipe:


Servings: 4

Cook time: 15-20 minutes

  • 1 package tempeh

  • 1 can black beans (I used jalapeño lime black beans)

  • 2 cloves garlic minced

  • 2 tbs olive oil separated

  • 2 tbs soy sauce

  • 1 tsp garlic powder

  • 1 tsp onion powder

  • 1 tsp cumin

  • 1 tsp chili powder

  • 1/4 tsp cayenne powder (spicy)

  • 1/2 cup salsa

  • Taco shells

Toppings:

  • salsa

  • cilantro

  • avocado

  • lime

  1. Chop tempeh into small pieces. Heat 1/2 tbs olive oil on medium heat.

  2. Add garlic and cook for about 1-2 minutes. Then add the tempeh and stir.

  3. While the tempeh is cooking, mix the remaining oil, soy sauce, and seasonings in a small bowl. Add to the tempeh and stir to coat. Let cook about 2-3 minutes.

  4. Add the beans and salsa and stir. Reduce heat and simmer 3-4 minutes.

  5. Assemble tacos and devour!



This is my favorite plant-based taco recipe to make on taco Tuesdays! It's super quick to whip up and tastes delicious! Even my nonvegan boyfriend will eat this and loves it! I've also made this recipe using tofu crumbled up and it tastes just as good. I prefer tempeh with this recipe though because of its firm texture. Normally I would drain and rinse the beans but this time I decided to use jalapeño lime beans so I didn't want to rinse off any flavor! I always have leftovers after I make this so I like to make taco salad for lunch the next day. The beans and tempeh are also great with rice in a burrito or burrito bowl. Give this recipe a try and let me know how it goes!









17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page