top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Black Bean & Tempeh Enchiladas Con Salsa Verde

Recipe:

Servings: 4-5

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 12 corn tortillas

  • 1 package of tempeh

  • 1 15oz can black beans drained & rinsed

  • 2 15 oz cans green enchilada sauce

  • 1/2 medium onion chopped

  • 2 cloves garlic minced

  • 1 tbs olive oil

  • 1-2 cups mushrooms chopped

  • 2-3 cups spinach

  • 1/4 cup cilantro chopped + more for garnish

  • Vegan cheese to top

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F

  2. Heat oil in a large pan on medium heat

  3. Add chopped onion and minced garlic and cook for 2 minutes.

  4. Chop tempeh to small pieces and add to the pan. Stir and cook for 2 minutes.

  5. Add the mushrooms and black beans to the pan. Cook until mushrooms are soft and everything is heated through.

  6. Mix in 1 can of enchilada sauce, spinach, and 1/4 cup cilantro.

  7. Heat tortillas in the microwave for 30 seconds to a minute.

  8. Spoon mixture into tortillas, fold and place into a large casserole dish, seam side down. Top with the second can of sauce and cheese.

  9. Bake for 15 minutes and then broil for 3 minutes.

  10. Garnish with cilantro and enjoy!


I've never been big on enchiladas because I always thought that they had too much cheese. I've also never made my own enchiladas and now I get why people love them! These were so flavorful and definitely not too cheesy. The best part is they only took about 30 minutes to make! I used tempeh and black beans for protein but you could use all tempeh or all black beans if you prefer. I like to have a mixture of protein sources when I can to help get all the necessary amino acids and because I like a variety of flavors and textures. I had extra filling left over because the tortillas don't hold much so I just distributed the remaining filling over top. This is a great recipe to make for a dinner party or event because it is quick, tasty, and looks like you spent a lot of time on it! Comment down below if you give this recipe a try and what you did or would do differently!



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page