top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrook Galey

Easy Vegan Sweet Potato Pie - perfect for Thanksgiving!


Recipe:

Servings: 6

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

  • 1 large sweet potato

  • 3/4 cup plant milk ( I used almond)

  • 6 dates, pits removed*

  • 1/4 cup agave or maple syrup*

  • 2 tbs cornstarch or tapioca starch

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1 graham cracker pie crust or 6 mini pie crusts (check ingredients to make sure it's vegan)

Optional topping:

  • 3-4 tbs flour (I used ground oats)

  • 2 tbs chopped nuts ( I used walnuts)

  • 1 tbs nut or seed butter

  • 1 tbs agave or maple syrup

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F

  2. Stab the sweet potato with a fork a few times and microwave for 6-7 minutes.

  3. Boil 2 cups of water, remove from heat and add the pitted dates to it and let them soak for about 10 minutes. If you want to omit this step you can, you just will have more specs of dates in the pie. Drain the water off after 10 minutes.

  4. In a blender or food processor add the sweet potato, dates, milk and syrup and blend until smooth. Then add the cornstarch, vanilla, salt, and cinnamon and blend until smooth again.

  5. Pour the mixture into the pie crusts. Make the topping by melting the nut butter in the microwave for 30 seconds and then mixing all the remaining ingredients together. Sprinkle over top of the pies.

  6. Bake the pies for 25 minutes. Let them cool a few hours before serving. Enjoy!

Notes:

*Can sub dates and agave/maple syrup for white and/or brown sugar. I would use 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of sugar, just taste it to see if it is sweet enough before filling pie.

So I got these little Keebler graham cracker pie crusts at Aldi a few weeks ago and I didn't know what to make with them until today. I've never had sweet potato pie before and I would say it tastes like pumpkin pie but better. Typically you wouldn't use graham cracker crust for this sort of pie, people usually use the pastry crusts, but I highly recommend using this kind! It adds a nice crunch and flavor to the pie. I'm seriously so impressed without how they ended up tasting! I am going to be trying to make and post Thanksgiving inspired recipes this week and I think this is the perfect Thanksgiving dessert! If you are a vegan or have vegans in your family, try out this recipe. It is super easy and everyone can enjoy it. If you don't have dates or agave/maple syrup, you could substitute for white and/or brown sugar. I would just add the sugar a little at a time until you get the desired sweetness. But if I were to guess the amount, I would say a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup. Comment down below if you try this recipe and what you did or would differently! Happy Thanksgiving!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page